The Tragedy That Occurred 9/11

The fact that the weather was nice that day is hard for me to imagine. The memory I have is hard to displace. The horrendous chaos that occurred will haunt me forever.

Michael had already opened the pub for some regular customers. My wife’s car broke down on the way, so I was 15 minutes late. Michael did not like when people were late and he did not care much for reasons either. That is why I had to run over here and my wife had to wait for a car carrier. Besides, her former boss at Cantor Fitzgerald loved her. God bless his soul.

I tried to ignore the cold look Michael gave me by looking at the clock. I remember this moment like it was yesterday. The seconds hand on the clock passed twelve and the time was 08:46. This explosion caught everybodys detention. We ran outside to get a better look. I noticed smoke coming out from the North Tower.

”Dear god, that has to be a small plane or something?” Micheal said.

We ran up towards the roof to get a better look, when a small earthquake emerged. Michael then closed the pub and we all drove away in his small 4 passanger seat car to safety. I still have a clear memory of the tradegy, even though I was stiff and shocked during the whole experience. I am now just relieved over the fact that my wife did not go to work that day.

“Five years from the date of the attack that changed our world, we’ve come back to remember the valor of those we lost—those who innocently went to work that day and the brave souls who went in after them. We have also come to be ever mindful of the courage of those who grieve for them, and the light that still lives in their hearts.”

—New York City mayor ­Rudolph Giuliani at the World Trade Center site in 2006

Matias

Leave a Reply

